Maurice Hawkins wins 10th Gold Ring of WSOP, takes down Horseshoe Council Bluffs Main Events

By | April 11, 2017

Maurice Hawkins wins 10th Gold Ring of WSOP, takes down Horseshoe Council Bluffs Main EventsMaurice Hawkins, a pro poker player from West Palm Beach, Florida has won his tenth gold ring, while playing at Horseshoe Council Bluffs Main Events.

The player collected the first prize of amount $97,561 from the tournament, while runner-up of this game was another US poker pro named William Perpich , who pocketed  $60,292.

Hawkins is playing outstandingly well since last two years. He has won six gold rings playing at various World Series of poker circuits in last two years. The player is at high. He is making and breaking all the previous records made at WSOP.

Hawkins also played well last year and won back-to-back poker circuits. He won his fifth and sixth gold ring at Council Bluffs. The two rings were for monster stack event and then the Main Event.

After winning these two at Council Bluff, he won Main Event victory at Harrah’s Cherokee just two weeks later and this was his seventh gold ring.

His largest WSOP cash was of amount $279,722, which he earned 1,008-player field in Harrah’s Cherokee.

Hawkins now have most gold ring all time. He has made over $1.1 Million from playing at various tournaments.

Hawkins was very happy. He said after the match that “Women and men lie, numbers don’t,”. He further said that “I play for money, I play to eat, I don’t play for accolades”.

This particular $1,675 No-Limit Hold’em buy-in Main event was 10th of 12 gold rings tournament, which took place at Horseshoe Council Bluffs.

The tournament attracted 271 players and generated $406,500 as total prize pool. Top 30 players took home some amount of money from the game.

There were two starting flights of this tournament. Day 1 A of the game attracted 122 players, while flight B received 149 entries.

Final table results:

1st:  Maurice Hawkins – $97,561
2nd: William Perpich – $60,292
3rd: Charles Moore – $43,748
4th: Ross Clare – $32,276
5th: Sam De Silva – $24,207
6th: Jack Do – $18,447
7th: Stanley Webb – $14,276
8th: Matt Hamilton – $11,219
9th: David Delaney – $8,951